Our mission is to serve the ​Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine (LSOM) and its faculty members through honoring, fostering,and advancing biomedical teaching and excellence in educational scholarship.


Our Goals are to demonstrate the LSOM commitment to excellence across the academic biomedical education continuum through:

  1. Fostering medical educators to create and sustain outstanding curricul​a, teaching, continuous quality improvement, educational research,and scholarship.
  2. Providing the LSOM and its departments with a mechanism to support career development for medical educators​.
  3. Building the academic recognition and prominence of LSOM faculty who make a career commitment to medical education, including ​through awards and support for promotion and tenure.
  4. Achieving and sustaining educational excellence throughout ​the LSOM to earn a national reputation for ​outstanding educational expertise, research, and innovation.

In doing so, we will facilitate and incentivize LSOM educators to join and build the Academy into a thriving participatory community of experts, mentors, and role-models,whose achievements measurably contribute to the institution, the profession, and the academic career advancement of self and others

The AES Call for New Faculty Fellows is now closed

The AES is a service academy dedicated to excellence in biomedical teaching and educational scholarship. Please consider applying for Spring 2025 New Membership. Announcements will be sent out through the Long School of Medicine email list and on the AES Website.