The LSOM Academy of Educational Scholars is a service academy dedicated to excellence in biomedical teaching and educational scholarship, as detailed on the AES Website.

Through the dedicated efforts of the AES Founding Members and with Dean Hromas’ support, the AES has had a very successful first year despite the challenges brought on by COVID-19. The AES inaugurated its first faculty fellow class comprised of dedicated educational scholars who are working to develop innovative projects that will enhance the LSOM. Visit the 2021 Faculty Fellows webpage to see the faculty fellows and learn about their projects.

Membership Selection Committee (MSC)

The inaugural MSC is composed of the Founding Members. In future years, membership of the MSC will be composed of a combination of experienced MSC members and newly appointed AES members.

  • Y. W. Francis Lam, Pharm.D.
  • Robin Leach, Ph.D.
  • Mark Nadeau, M.D.
  • Patrick Nguyen, M.D.
  • P. Renee Yew, Ph.D.
  • Keith Krolick, Ph.D., Chair

The charge of the MSC, as dictated by the AES bylaws, is to conduct and oversee all processes for reviewing membership applications and new member selection. The AES MSC will recommend to the AES new members annually through a formal process of candidate solicitation, application, peer‐review and selection.


Sylvia Botros-Brey, MD, MSCI
Executive Director

Janet F. Williams, MD, FAAP
LSOM Vice Dean for Faculty

Shelly Taylor
LSOM Chief of Staff