Residents & Residency Leadership

A message from our Chief Residents

We take great pride in our Internal Medicine Residency program at UT Health San Antonio and are happy that you have taken the time to visit us! Each of us has a distinct role in making the resident experience enjoyable, educational, and enlightening. We hope you strongly consider our program when you are deciding where to apply. We would love to show you our campus, have you meet our great residents and faculty, and get the chance to know how you would fit well into our program!

Things you should consider when deciding on where you will complete your Internal Medicine Residency:

  • Find a well-rounded program that would provide you with excellent training, diverse pathology, and a learning environment that fits your interests.
  • The location of the program should be somewhere that you and your family will enjoy living and where you can find ways to have fun outside of work.
Chief Residents Group Photo
Chief Residents from left to right: Dr. Dean "Trey" Kellogg, Chief Resident of Education & Research; Dr. Lara Jones, Chief Resident of Quality, Safety & Simulation; Dr. James "Travis" Jenkins, Chief Resident of Scheduling; Dr. Farah Ladak, Chief Resident of Resident Wellness & Outpatient Scheduling; and Dr. David Valadez, Chief Resident of Quality Improvement & Patient Safety.

Meet our Residency Leadership

Brian W. Reeves, M.D.

Dr. Reeves is a graduate of Jefferson Medical College where he completed his Internal Medicine Residency and served as Chief Resident. He completed his Nephrology Fellowship at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. He has held faculty positions at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and the Penn State College of Medicine, where he was Chief of Nephrology for 16 years. He joined UT Health San Antonio in 2016 as Chair of Medicine and holds the Dan F. Parman Distinguished Chair and the Marvin Forland Endowed Chair.

Patricia I. Wathen, M.D.

Dr. Wathen received her AB degree in Biology Cum Laude from Harvard University, and her MD degree from Georgetown University School of Medicine. She completed her Family Practice Residency at the Duke/FAHEC Family Medicine Program and her Internal Medicine Residency at UT Health San Antonio. She has been a member of the Division of General Medicine at UT Health San Antonio since 1993. She has won numerous teaching awards, including the University of Texas Regents Outstanding Teaching Award, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching, multiple Teacher-of-the-Year Awards, and the Southern Society of General Medicine Clinician-Educator Award. She has won the Outstanding Clinical Teacher Award by vote of the Internal Medicine Residents 8 times, and was awarded the Lifetime Clinical Teaching Award from the Department of Medicine. Dr. Wathen’s teaching and clinical interests include simulation, procedure training, patient safety/QI, motivational interviewing, and women’s health. She is currently the Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency program and Vice Chair for Education for the Department of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio.

Jane O’Rorke, M.D.

Dr. O’Rorke received her BA with high honors from Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, MA and attended The State University of New York Downstate Medical Center in Brooklyn, NY where she was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honors Society. After completing her Internship and Residency at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA) she served as Chief Resident of the program. She went on to complete a Faculty Development Fellowship at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill. She has won numerous teaching awards including Southern Society of General Internal Medicine Clinician Educator-of-the-Year Award and Outstanding Teacher-of-the-Year Award for the Division of General Internal Medicine, and the University of Texas Presidential Teaching Excellence Award. She is currently Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hospital Medicine.

Christopher Moreland, M.D., MPH

Dr. Moreland graduated with a BA in Plan II Honors from UT Austin, followed by UT Houston Medical School as an Alpha Omega Alpha member. After completing Internal Medicine Residency and Academic General Medicine Fellowship at UC Davis in Sacramento, CA, he and his wife, an emergency medicine physician, returned to Texas. As an Associate Professor and Associate Program Director of Internal Medicine Residency, he has been highly engaged in medical education. Education roles have included co-director of the internal medicine consult rotation as well as the Resident as Teacher elective, team-based learning facilitator with medical students, Veritas faculty mentor for medical students, and creator of the Residency Clinician as Educator Track. His presentations and publications delve into issues relating to effective perioperative medicine, inter-professional communication, health disparities, healthcare interpretation services, and diversity among healthcare professionals. Teaching awards from trainees reflect his continuing interest in medical education.

Kevin Proud, M.D.

Dr. Proud earned his Bachelor of Science from Indiana University in Bloomington, before completing medical school at Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago. He subsequently completed his Internal Medicine Residency at the University of Michigan and completed a Fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University Hospitals of Case Western Reserve in Cleveland, Ohio. He joined the faculty at UT Health San Antonio in 2014 as an Assistant Professor, and accepted the role of Associate Program Director for the Internal Medicine Residency program in August 2019.  His main areas of focus include intensive care medicine, mechanical ventilation, and point-of-care ultrasound.