Supporting Endowments


The Fred G. Corley, M.D. Chair in Orthopaedics, #57700223 was established in July 2004.  Anil K. Dutta, M.D. is the holder of this endowment.  This endowment was established to honor Dr. Corley who is one of our most respected long-term faculty, who has special expertise in surgery of the upper extremities, especially in management of trauma of the elbow, wrist, and hand.  He serves as a role model for Medical Students and Residents and has been the Chief of the Hand Services at this institution for over two decades.  The purpose of this endowment is to establish a permanent education resource for training Residents and Medical Students in surgery of the hand, shoulder and elbow.

John J. Hinchey, M.D. and Kathryn Hinchey Chair in Orthopaedics, #57700024 is held by Robert H. Quinn, M.D. This endowment was established in 1992 to honor Dr. Hinchey for his tremendous contributions to Orthopaedics and to the total medical community during his many years of Orthopaedic practice in San Antonio.  Dr. Hinchey died on March 3, 2000; Mrs. Kathryn Hinchey died December 2011. The purpose of the endowment is to establish an endowed position in the Department of Orthopaedics to support clinical and basic research.

Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., M.D., Chair in Orthopaedics, #57700574  This endowment was established in 2003 to honor Dr. Rockwood who is recognized internationally for his contributions to Orthopaedic Surgery. The endowment was created to support research and education specializing in shoulder problems in the Department of Orthopaedics at UT Health San Antonio. This endowment was previously held by Michael A. Wirth, M.D. who retired on June 30, 2019.

President’s Council/Dielmann Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery, #57700241 This endowment does not have a holder at this time but was previously held by Grant D. Hogue, M.D. who left UT Health San Antonio on January 1, 2020.  This endowment was established in 2005 to honor Henry B. and Edna Smith Dielmann.  Mrs. Dielmann, a community philanthropist died in 2002 and left a generous portion of her estate to UTHSCSA.  She was the widow of Henry B. Dielmann, a prominent San Antonio attorney, three-time member of the Texas House of Representatives and former Dean of the St. Mary’s University Law School in San Antonio. This endowment was created to provide Pediatric Orthopaedic training and programs to Medical Students and Residents at UT Health San Antonio as well as specialty training to countries with limited resources.

Frances and Blackstone Dilworth Professorship in Orthopaedic Oncology, #57700639  Rajiv Rajani, M.D. was appointed holder to this prestigious endowment on April 1, 2020. Funds distributed from this endowment shall support the professorship in accordance with the Regents’ Rules and Regulations and applicable policies pertaining to endowed academic positions.  As additional funds are received, this endowment will be elevated to the highest level of endowment for which it qualifies.


Louis T. Bogy, D.P.M. Professorship in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery, #57700098. Michael Palladino, D.P.M. was appointed as holder in 2009. This Professorship was established in 1998 to honor Louis T. Bogy, Chairman Emeritus of the Podiatry residency training program at UTHSCSA. Dr. Bogy was instrumental in establishing the residency training program, which began in 1972 with one Resident.  More than 100 Residents have graduated since 1972.  Dr. Bogy died on February 9, 2004. The first supported faculty member to be supported by this Professorship was Lawrence Harkless, D.P.M. from 1999 to 2007. This endowment was created to support research and resident education in the area of diabetic foot care.

Lee J. Sanders, M.D. Professorship in Lower Extremity Amputation Prevention, #57700196.  In 2008, Thomas Zgonis, D.P.M. was appointed as holder of this endowment.  The Professorship was established in 2003 to honor Lee J. Sanders, D.P.M, Chief of podiatry service, acute care and specialty services at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Lebanon, PA.  Dr. Sanders is one of the foremost leaders in prevention of lower-extremity amputation in diabetics. The purpose of the Professorship would be to support a faculty member in the Podiatry Division of the Orthopaedic Department and to support podiatric research and education in amputation prevention and other podiatric needs deemed appropriate by the Chair of Orthopaedics.

The Lawrence B. Harkless D.P.M. Endowed Program Fund in Podiatry, #57700476 was created March 26, 2014 with a $10,000 gift from G. Javier Cavazos, Jr., D.P.M. received in November 2007 to support an endowment for the Orthopaedics Department, Podiatry Division in the School of Medicine. Future plans will be to use this endowment for Podiatry Faculty research, travel and miscellaneous expenses to support the academic mission of the Program Fund in Podiatry.

Endowments are supported through the Office of Development.