Supporting honorary lectureships

The Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., M.D. Endowed Lecture Series, 57700233 was established in November 2004.  We appreciate Dr. Rockwood’s recognition of the Orthopaedic Residents as they graduate from our Residency Program.  This endowment was created to defray all or part of the expenses associated with the annual Orthopaedic Resident Graduation. This includes expenses to invite a distinguished guest lecturer and expenses associated with the Grand Rounds lecture, evening lecture and Graduation.

The Philip A. Deffer, Sr., M.D. Lecture Series, #57700070 was established in 1994. Dr. Deffer was a Retired Brigadier General, Associate Professor in the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at the Health Science Center and Director of the Orthopaedic Clinics at the University Health Center-Downtown from 1982-2003. Dr. Deffer died on October 26, 2006. The sole purpose for this endowment is to defray or offset expenses associated with inviting a distinguished guest speaker to the annual educational lecture to interact, share experiences and offer insights with our Residents and Medical Students.

The Laura B. Flawn, M.D. Endowed Professorship in Diseases of the Spine and Spine Trauma, #57700189 was established in 2002. Christopher Chaput, M.D. was appointed to this prestigious endowment effective January 1, 2019.  Dr. Flawn received high praise for her surgical skill and her contributions to the advancement of surgery of the spine before and after her death on October 20, 2001. She was active in the Scoliosis Research Society and pioneered the development of practices and procedures to improve the treatment of scoliosis.  The purpose of this endowment is to defray all or part of the cost of bringing a visiting specialist in diseases of the spine and spine trauma to the annual lecture which will benefit Medical Students and Residents at UT Health San Antonio. It is funded by Dr. and Mrs. Peter Flawn, Dr. John P. Howe, III and Ms. Tyrrell Flawn.

Honorary Lectureships are supported through the Office of Development.