Diabetic Foot Fellowship / Observership

Diabetic Foot Fellowship / Observership

“Multidisciplinary Team Approach on the Treatment of the Diabetic Foot”

Program Description: The fellowship is a 1 to 6 week experience that will allow post graduate physicians/surgeons and physicians/surgeons-in-training from around the world to observe surgical and outpatient treatment methods in an academic health care center.


Prerequisite Training/Internship Selection Criteria:  Post graduates, residency and/or equivalent education and interest in the treatment of the diabetic foot.


 Application Criteria: Letter of interest, CV, recent photo, 3 recommendation letters and a tuition requirement.


 Visa Requirements: Pending approval of Visiting Physician / Clinician Program in development.


For more information or to submit an application criteria, please contact:


Thomas Zgonis, DPM, FACFAS

Fellowship Director, Reconstructive Foot and Ankle Surgery

Division of Podiatric Medicine & Surgery

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

The University of Texas Health Science Center

7703 Floyd Curl Drive, MSC 7776

San Antonio, Texas 78229-3900

Phone: (210) 567-5152

Fax: (210) 567-5153

E-mail: zgonis@uthscsa.edu

 For more information about visa requirements, please contact:

Diana Salazar, Director

Office of International Services

UT Health Science Center at San Antonio

E-mail: SalazarDR@uthscsa.edu

Past Fellows Year Country
Rajeev Kumar Singh, MS
December 2018
Mumbai, India
Juan U. Magalong, MD
December 2017
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Saravanakumar Ganesan, MBBS, MS, DA, FPS
March 2017
Madurai, India
Tomasz Biernacki, DPM
January/February 2017
Windsor, Canada
Jeffrey L. Carnett, DPM
January 2016
Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Jose David Garza, MD
July 2015
Monterrey, Mexico
Sharvil S. Gadve, MBBS, MD, DM
February 2014
Mumbai, India
Jorge Ricardo de Souza Lira, MD, MS
February/March 2013
Garanhuns, Brazil
Rodrigo Alcala Duran
January 2013
Reynosa, Mexico
Srinivas Seshabhattaru, MBBS
May 2012
Hyderabad, India
Fernando Vasquez Abrego, DPM, MD
April 2012
Monterrey, Mexico
Luinio Tongson, MD
December 2011
Quezon City, Philippines
Ioannis Ignatiadis, MD, PhD
August 2011
Athens, Greece
Apostolos E. Papalois, PhD
August 2011
Athens, Greece
Rajesh Kesavan, MBBS
January  2009
Chennai, India
Enrico Parino, MD
December 2008
Torino, Italy
Yavuz Kocabey, MD
January 2007
Istanbul, Turkey