Distinguished Research Lecture Series with Bradley Welling, MD, PhD, FACS

Event Date & Time

February 11, 2020


UT Health San Antonio - Department of Otolaryngology

Event Details:
Event Flyer

Save to Calendar

Add to calendar

About the Speaker(s)

D. Bradley Welling, M.D., Ph.D., F.A.C.S.
Walter Augustus Lecompte Chair
Harvard Department of Otolaryngology
Chief of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
Massachusetts Eye and Ear
Chief of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
Massachusetts General Hospital

Dr. Welling is the Walter Augustus Lecompte Professor and Chair of the Harvard Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and is the Chief of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and Massachusetts General Hospital.  He received his undergraduate Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry, with a minor in Japanese, and Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Utah.  His Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery residency was completed at the University of Iowa and his fellowship in Otology, Neurotology, and Cranial Base Surgery was completed in affiliation with Vanderbilt University.  He completed a PhD in pathobiology at The Ohio State University.

Dr. Welling’s professional activities include teaching, research, patient care and administration.  He has participated the training of medical students, otolaryngology residents, neurotology fellows and graduate students throughout his career. His research interests have centered on vestibular schwannomas and identifying new treatment options for neurofibromatosis type 2 patients to decrease morbidity and prolong quality of life. Funding from the National Institute on Deafness and Communication Disorders (NIDCD), the Department of Defense and the Children’s Tumor Foundation have supported this work.  Clinically, Dr. Welling performs surgical treatment of ear and cranial base tumors and related diseases.  Dr. Welling previously served as chair the Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery at The Ohio State University.  He has been a leader in the Triological Society, the president of the American Neurotology Society, the president of the American Otological Society, a member of the Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), and a member of the Board of Directors of the American Board of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery where he is now a Senior Advisor.  He received the Award of Excellence in Science from the Children’s Tumor Foundation, the Edmund Prince Fowler Award from the Triological Society and the Torok Award from the American Neurotology Society for his research contributions.  He is the US President of the Collegium Oto-Rhino-Laryngologicum Amicitiae Sacrum. He has published over 120 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the Laryngoscope Investigative Otolaryngology journal.