Congratulations to Susan Mooberry, Ph.D. for being awarded the the inaugural Susan Band Horwitz Award Lecture in Cancer Pharmacology!

January 12, 2022

The ASPET Division for Cancer Pharmacology is pleased to award Dr. Susan Mooberry from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, the inaugural Susan Band Horwitz Award Lecture in Cancer Pharmacology.  This award recognizes excellent original research by established investigators in cancer pharmacology. The award is named in honor of Dr. Horwitz who is […]

Congratulations to Dr. Xiaoli Sun for receiving UT System Rising STARs Award!

December 17, 2021

Xiaoli Sun, MD, PhD, assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacology at the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, has received a UT System Rising STARs award. The award for early-career investigators comes with a $250,000 grant. “The support from the […]

Dr. Noboru Hiroi Publishes in Molecular Psychiatry!

November 12, 2021

Tbx1, a gene encoded in 22q11.2 copy number variant, is a link between alterations in fimbria myelination and cognitive speed in mice.

Samantha Yee Publishes First Author Paper in Nature Communications

February 25, 2020

Samantha Yee, a third year Ph.D. student in the Pharmacology and Physiology discipline of the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program, has published a co-first author paper in Nature Communications. Yee is a student in Dr. April Risinger’s lab and is her first graduate student. The title of Yee’s paper is “Elucidating target specificity of the taccalonolide […]

Samantha Yee Becomes SGA President

February 25, 2020

Samantha Yee, a third year Ph.D. student in Dr. April Risinger’s lab in the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program in the Physiology & Pharmacology discipline, will be the 2020-2021 Student Government Association (SGA) President. The Student Government Association is the recognized forum of student opinion of the Health Science Center. It is comprised of representatives from […]

Former Pharmacology student, Anibal Diogenes, selected as American Association of Endodontists award winner.

January 28, 2020

Anibal Diogenes, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D., is the recipient of the prestigious Edward M. Osetek Educator Award from the American Association of Endodontists (AAE).  As an associate professor and the director of the endodontics residency program at UT Health San Antonio… Dr. Diogenes was a student in the Department of Pharmacology in 2002 and received his […]

Dr. David Morilak Interviews on Texas Public Radio about Depression

December 19, 2019

Millions Of Americans Battle Major Depression But Don’t Get The Help They Need By Kim Johnson & Dallas Williams • Dec 17, 2019 It’s normal for people to occasionally feel sad in response to life events or experiences, but being sad is not the same as having depression — a serious but treatable mental illness […]

David Morilak

Reaching Too High: David Morilak

December 18, 2019

David Morilak is a neuroscientist with a wild idea: Reaching too high and straining to accomplish goals is a scientifically-proven way to overcome stress.  David Morilak, Ph.D. is a Professor of Pharmacology, Director of the Neuroscience Graduate Program, and Director of the Center for Biomedical Neuroscience at UT Health, San Antonio. Born in Cleveland, Ohio, […]

Congratulations to Dr. Kelly McGlothen-Bell for the Academy Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2019-2020 cohort.

November 19, 2019

Kelly McGlothen-Bell, PhD, RN, a posdoctoral fellow in Dr. Lisa Cleveland’s lab, has been selected for the the Academy Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2019-2020 cohort. Launched in 2014, the Jonas Policy Scholars program, generously funded by Jonas Philanthropies, supports early-career scholars seeking to shape nursing practice, education, and research policy. The Academy Jonas Policy Scholars […]

Noboru Hiroi

Congratulations to Noboru Hiroi on receiving an outstanding research award from the Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology!

October 15, 2019

Congress of Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology aims to encourage research, facilitate the communication of ideas in converging disciplines of Neuropsychopharmacology in Asia, develop pharmacotherapies for the treatment for psychiatric disorders, provide education and training opportunities, and empower patients and their families with scientific knowledge. Congratulations to Noboru Hiroi for receiving an outstanding research award.