Abdominal Radiology

The abdominal imaging section of the UT Health San Antonio radiology department is comprised of six board-certified and fellowship trained radiologists. We provide sub-specialty interpretation for cross-sectional imaging, such as Ultrasound, CT and MRI at the MARC (Medical Arts and Research Center), University Hospital, Robert B. Green Clinic and UT Health Hill Country. We offer a full range of imaging services for the diagnosis of abdominal and pelvic pathology. Our group has talented faculty with subspecialty expertise that provides both passionate clinical services and advanced clinical research. We pride ourselves being at the forefront of research and resident teaching while keeping patient care a number one priority. We maintain ourselves at the leading edge of clinical research and incorporate it into our day-to-day practice to provide the best possible patient care. Every year, abdominal faculty members present at national and international meetings and have won multiple awards for their presentations.

Advanced Abdominal Studies:

  • CT Colonography
  • CT & MR Enterography
  • CT & MR Urography
  • MRI Diffusion Imaging
  • MR Quantification of Hepatic Fat and Iron Content
  • MRI for Rectal Cancer
  • MRI for Prostate Cancer
  • Non-contrast MRA [Angiography]

Radiologists

Venkata Katabathina, M.D.

Professor of Radiology
Section Director of Abdominal Radiology
Email: katabathina@uthscsa.edu

Apurva Bonde, M.D.

Assistant Clinical Professor of Radiology
Email: bonde@uthscsa.edu

Kedar Chintapalli, M.D.

Professor/Clinical
Email: chintapalli@uthscsa.edu

Fadi El-Merhi, M.D.

Associate Professor/Clinical
Email: elmerhi@uthscsa.edu

Venkatesh J. Kadaba, M.D.

Assistant Clinical Professor of Radiology
Email: kadaba@uthscsa.edu

Lokesh Khanna, M.D.

Assistant Professor/Clinical
Email: khannal@uthscsa.edu

Vijayanadh Ojili, M.D.

Professor/Clinical
Email: ojili@uthscsa.edu

Sachin Saboo, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Radiology
Email: saboos@uthscsa.edu

Abhijit Sunnapwar, M.D.

Associate Professor/Clinical
Email: sunnapwar@uthscsa.edu

Contact Information

Gladys Shults

Abdomen Administrative Support
Phone: 210-567-6470
Fax: 210-567-3294
Email: shults@uthscsa.edu