CSA 2023-2024 Seminar Series

Seminars are held on Tuesday’s 11am – 12pm CST, 209L MED Bld.
Contact Mariah Feliciano, felicianom@uthscsa.edu for meeting details.

17 Oct – Qitao Ran, Ph.D., Professor
UT Health at San Antonio
“Is Ferroptosis a therapeutic target for ALS and alzheimer’s disease?”
Host: Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy

24 Oct – Andrew Hardaway, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
University of Alabama at Birmingham
“Solitary tract preproglucagon and GLP-1 producing neurons regulate valence and energy intake”
Host: Luke Norton, M.D., Assistant Professor

31 Oct – Lingtao Jin, Ph.D., Associate Professor
UT Health at San Antonio
“Metabolic and Kinase signaling in cancer drug resistance”
Host: LuZhe Sun, Ph.D., Professor

7 Nov – Iannis Aifantis, Ph.D., Professor and Chair
NYU School of Medicine
“Single cell mapping of leukemia: microenvironment interations”
Host: Peng Zhang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

14 Nov – David NeNardo, Ph.D., Professor
University of Washington School of Medicine
“Targeting the Tumor Microenvironment to improve response to therapy”
Host: Pei Wang, Ph.D., Associate Professor

5 Dec – Catherine Collins, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
“Regulation of neuronal connectivity by axonal stress signaling”
Host: Lizhen Chen, Ph.D., Associate Professor

12 Dec – Qiong Wang, Ph.D., Associate Professor
City of Hope Medical Center
Host: Lily Dong, Ph.D., Professor

16 Jan – Stefan Strack, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Chair
University of Iowa
Host: Yidong Bai, Ph.D., Professor

20 Feb – Melissa Carroll, Ph.D., Associate Professor
George Washington University
Host: Laura Johnson, Ph.D., Associate Professor

2 Apr – Nadia Carlesso, M.D., Ph .D., Professor and Chair
City of Hope Medical Center
Host: Feng-Chun Yang, M.D., Ph .D., Professor

9 Apr – Joann Sweasy, Ph.D., Professor
University of Arizona Cancer Center
“DNA Repair and Immunity”
Host: Christi Walter, Ph.D., Professor and Chair

16 Apr – Marie Hardwick, Ph.D., Professor
Hopkins University
Host: Yidong Bai, Ph.D., Professor

30 Apr – Luliana lonita-Laza, Ph.D., Professor
Columbia University
Host: Habil Zare, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

7 May – Luiz Penalva, Ph.D., Professor
UT Health at San Antonio
“Ribosomal biogenesis in glioblastoma”
Host: Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy

Upcoming Seminars Poster

Edward G. Rennels

May 7, 1920 – January 31, 2010

In 1966, the University of Texas opened a new medical school in San Antonio, Texas. Edward G. Rennels was selected as the founding Chair of the nascent Department of Anatomy. Over the next 14 years, he recruited faculty who shared his vision to build a department committed to excellence in scholarly achievement, graduate education and teaching. In 1980, he resigned as Chair and in 1982, was named Professor Emeritus upon retiring from the University.

Tribute to Edward G. Rennels

Tribute provided by Erle K. Adrian, Damon C. Herbert, and Vick F. Williams.