Program Overview

We accept one fellow per year
2-Year Fellowship
3-Year Fellowship
Newly accredited: Accepting applications through Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS®) until the site closes – May 31, 2020.

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) granted initial accreditation on April 29, 2019 to The Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship (FPMRS) in the Department of Urology at UT Health San Antonio.

Our program offers a robust clinical and surgical practice that include vaginal, abdominal, laparoscopic and robotic surgery that spans the depth and breadth of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery, Female Urology, Neurourology and Urodynamics, and defecatory dysfunction.

Clinical rotations include inpatient and outpatient urogynecology, urology, and gastroenterology in a private setting, a public setting and through the Veteran’s Administration.

Program Requirements

Graduate of an ACGME-accredited residency program in Urology or Obstetrics and Gynecology

Program Length:

2 Years for Urology applicants, 3 years for Gynecology applicants

Application Process

ERAS on the December application cycle. Please include 3 letters of recommendation (one from either the Department Chair or the Residency Program Director) and a personal statement. Also, include your Medical School Dean’s Letter and your USMLE or COMPLEX scores.



For questions about the fellowship, contact Fellowship Program Director Dr. Sylvia Botros-Brey

Sylvia Botros-Brey, MD
Phone: 210-567-5640

UT Health San Antonio
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7836
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900

UT Health San Antonio
Department of Urology
7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7845
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900

Sylvia Botros-Brey, MD

Associate Professor, Fellowship Director | 210-567-5676

Dr. Botros-Brey earned her Bachelors in Science in Biology at the University of Dallas in 1995 and then graduated from the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston – School of Medicine, and received her M.D. in 1999. She completed her residency in Houston at Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital, UT Health–Houston in 2003.  She then completed a fellowship in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (Urogynecology) at Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine concurrently with her Masters in Clinical Investigation at Northwestern’s School of public health in 2006. She has been practicing in Chicago for the past 11 years and feels privileged to return to her home state of Texas to join UT Medicine and the teaching faculty at UT Health San Antonio.

Elizabeth (Casiano) Evans, MD

Associate Professor | 210-567-5051

Dr. Evans is originally from San Antonio. She completed an 8-year combined Program in Liberal Medical Education at Brown University receiving her BA in Political Science in 2000 and MD in 2004. In 2008 she completed her residency at I.IT Southwestern in Dallas. She then completed a fellowship in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. She returned home to San Antonio 10 join the faculty here at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Dr. Evans is certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology in Obstetrics and Gynecology. She enjoys caring for women with uterine and vaginal prolapse and urinary incontinence. Her research interests include epidemiology and patient-centered outcomes following treatment.

Stephen R. Kraus, MD, FACS

Professor and Vice Chairman
Head Section of Female Urology, Neuro-Urology and Voiding Dysfunction | 210-567-5643

Dr. Kraus is Professor and Vice Chairman of the Department of Urology at the University of Texas Health San Antonio where he heads the Division of Female Urology, Neuro-Urology, and Voiding Dysfunction. In addition, Dr. Kraus heads the Neuro-Urology & Urodynamics Unit at the Spinal Cord Injury Center at the Audie Murphy VA Hospital and serves as medical director of the South Texas Pelvic Floor and Bladder Center.

Dr. Kraus completed his undergraduate education at Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. He then received his MD from the Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, previously a division of the University of Medicine and Dentistry in New Jersey, after which he completed his residency in urology, also at the Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. He completed a fellowship in Neuro-Urology, Incontinence, and Urodynamics at the Baylor College of Medicine, in Houston, Texas.

A Fellow of the American College of Surgeons, Dr. Kraus is also a member of the American Urological Association, the American Urogynecologic Society, the Society of Academic Urologists (SAU) the International Continence Society (ICS) and the Society of Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine and Urogenital Reconstruction (SUFU).  He is on the Board of Directors for SUFU and for the Texas Urological Society where he also serves as Chair of the Education Committee.

Dr. Kraus has strong interests in education. He previously served as Program Director for the 2-year Fellowship in Female Urology, Neuro-Urology and Voiding Dysfunction at UT Health San Antonio. In addition, Dr. Kraus served on the American Urological Association Urology Core Curriculum Section for Neuropathic Bladder as well as the Education Committees for both the Society of Urodynamics and Female Urology and the Texas Urological Society. Dr. Kraus has served as faculty for many postgraduate courses including the AUA Annual Review Course and the AUGS/SUFU FPMRS Review course on topics including Neurourology, Female Urology, Overactive Bladder, Male Incontinence & Voiding Disorders, and Urodynamics. He has served on the AUA Guidelines Panel on Urodynamics and the AUA Guidelines Panel on Female Stress Urinary Incontinence. Dr. Kraus is co-chair of the AUA Guidelines Panel for Neurogenic Bladder and he is chair of SUFU OAB Clinical Care Pathway Project.

Alexandriah N. Alas, MD

Assistant Professor | 210-567-5051

Dr. Alas earned her Bachelor of Science in molecular and cellular biology at Sonoma Slate University in 2003 and worked in the Biotech field before attended the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston School of Medicine and receiving her M.D. in 2009. After her residency in Los Angeles at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, she completed a fellowship in urogynecology at Cleveland Clinic Florida. She is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology and specializes in both non-surgical and minimally invasive surgical techniques for the treatment of pelvic floor disorders including vaginal and pelvic organ prolapse, urinary incontinence and voiding dysfunction, bowel incontinence, bladder and rectal fistulas, urethral diverticulums and mesh complications. Following her medical training, Dr. Alas returned to her home state of Texas to join UT Physicians and the teaching faculty at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. In addition to her clinical practice, she is actively involved in research, published in the field of urogynecology, and has been the recipient of several research awards. Currently, Dr. Alas is interested in quality improvement measures for patient-centered outcomes following surgical treatment organ prolapse.

Ash M. Dabbous, MD, FACOG

Associate Professor

Haisar E. Dao Campi, MD

Associate Professor/Clinical

Juan F. Echavarria, MD

Assistant Professor/Clinical | 210-567-4880