Posts written by barrerafc

Samantha Yee Publishes First Author Paper in Nature Communications

February 25, 2020

Samantha Yee, a third year Ph.D. student in the Pharmacology and Physiology discipline of the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program, has published a co-first author paper in Nature Communications. Yee is a student in Dr. April Risinger’s lab and is her first graduate student. The title of Yee’s paper is “Elucidating target specificity of the taccalonolide […]

Samantha Yee Becomes SGA President

February 25, 2020

Samantha Yee, a third year Ph.D. student in Dr. April Risinger’s lab in the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program in the Physiology & Pharmacology discipline, will be the 2020-2021 Student Government Association (SGA) President. The Student Government Association is the recognized forum of student opinion of the Health Science Center. It is comprised of representatives from […]

Former Pharmacology student, Anibal Diogenes, selected as American Association of Endodontists award winner.

January 28, 2020

Anibal Diogenes, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D., is the recipient of the prestigious Edward M. Osetek Educator Award from the American Association of Endodontists (AAE).  As an associate professor and the director of the endodontics residency program at UT Health San Antonio… Dr. Diogenes was a student in the Department of Pharmacology in 2002 and received his […]

Dr. David Morilak Interviews on Texas Public Radio about Depression

December 19, 2019

Millions Of Americans Battle Major Depression But Don’t Get The Help They Need By Kim Johnson & Dallas Williams • Dec 17, 2019 It’s normal for people to occasionally feel sad in response to life events or experiences, but being sad is not the same as having depression — a serious but treatable mental illness […]

David Morilak

Reaching Too High: David Morilak

December 18, 2019

David Morilak is a neuroscientist with a wild idea: Reaching too high and straining to accomplish goals is a scientifically-proven way to overcome stress.  David Morilak, Ph.D. is a Professor of Pharmacology, Director of the Neuroscience Graduate Program, and Director of the Center for Biomedical Neuroscience at UT Health, San Antonio. Born in Cleveland, Ohio, […]

Undergraduate students taking a group picture

Congratulations! ASPET SURF program has been renewed for another 3 years.

December 17, 2019

      The Department of Pharmacology was awarded another 3 years to host a program for undergraduates students to learn more on pharmacology research.  The ASPET Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow (SURF) Awards introduce undergraduate students to pharmacology research. Our goal is to use authentic, mentored research experiences in pharmacology to heighten student interest in […]

Lily Espinoza Awarded American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship

December 10, 2019

Lily Espinoza, a student in the Neuroscience discipline of the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. program, has been awarded an American Heart Association Predoctoral fellowship. The American Heart Association predoctoral fellowship is a training grant which supports students on the path to a research career. According to the website, the mission of the fellowship is to […]

Congratulations to Dr. Kelly McGlothen-Bell for the Academy Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2019-2020 cohort.

November 19, 2019

Kelly McGlothen-Bell, PhD, RN, a posdoctoral fellow in Dr. Lisa Cleveland’s lab, has been selected for the the Academy Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2019-2020 cohort. Launched in 2014, the Jonas Policy Scholars program, generously funded by Jonas Philanthropies, supports early-career scholars seeking to shape nursing practice, education, and research policy. The Academy Jonas Policy Scholars […]

Noboru Hiroi

Congratulations to Noboru Hiroi on receiving an outstanding research award from the Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology!

October 15, 2019

Congress of Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology aims to encourage research, facilitate the communication of ideas in converging disciplines of Neuropsychopharmacology in Asia, develop pharmacotherapies for the treatment for psychiatric disorders, provide education and training opportunities, and empower patients and their families with scientific knowledge. Congratulations to Noboru Hiroi for receiving an outstanding research award.

Alexandra Sharp

Allie Sharp Receives the 2019-2020 Predoctoral Research Training Award

October 8, 2019

Cognitive impairment with cancer therapy is a significant issue, and my dissertation project has begun to address way to improve the cognitive side effects associated with cancer treatment, particularly a hormone therapy for prostate cancer known as androgen deprivation therapy.   Read More >>>