Congratulations to Dr. T. Lee Gilman, post-doctoral fellow in the Daws lab, for receiving the inaugural Dennis L. Murphy Memorial Travel Award for young investigators. Lee received this prestigious award at the recent meeting of the International Society for Serotonin Research (ISSR), in Cork, Ireland, August 15-18, 2018.

August 3, 2018

Dennis L. Murphy, M.D., former Chief of the Laboratory of Clinical Science at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Intramural Research Program (IRP), passed away in 2017, after a brief illness.  Dr. Murphy was a giant in research geared toward understanding the etiology of, and improving treatments for, psychiatric disorders. In particular, he was […]

Faculty Spotlight – Dr. Swati Banerjee. Please click here to learn more.

July 11, 2018

Dr. Swati Banerjee was featured in The Pipette Gazette as the Faculty Spotlight. Click here to read the article.

Congratulations to Julia Saifetiarova in Dr. Bhat’s Lab on her publication in the Journal of Neuroscience! Click here to learn more.

June 20, 2018

Saifetiarova J, Shi Q, Paukert M, Komada M, Bhat MA (2018) Reorganization of Destabilized Nodes of Ranvier in βIV Spectrin Mutants Uncovers Critical Timelines for Nodal Restoration and Prevention of Motor Paresis. J. Neurosci. DOI:

Congratulations to Anna Taylor in Dr. Bhat’s Lab on her publication in eNeuro! Click here to learn more.

June 20, 2018

Taylor AM, Shi Q, Bhat MA (2018) Simultaneous Ablation of Neuronal Neurofascin and Ankyrin G in Young and Adult Mice Reveals Age-Dependent Increase in Nodal Stability in Myelinated Axons and Differential Effects on the Lifespan. eNeuro DOI:

Congratulations to Qian Shi in Dr. Bhat’s Lab on his publication in Frontiers in Cellular Neuroscience! Click here to learn more.

June 20, 2018

Shi Q, Saifetiarova J, Taylor AM, Bhat MA (2018) mTORC1 Activation by Loss of Tsc1 in Myelinating Glia Causes Downregulation of Quaking and Neurofascin 155 Leading to Paranodal Domain Disorganization. Front. Cell. Neurosci. doi: 10.3389/fncel.2018.00201