A few years back, Dr. DeLorenzo wisely suggested we explore the use of body bags to use for cold water immersion in the treatment of exertional heat stroke. Jalkennen Joseph picked this idea up as a resident research project in his 3rd year and presented at the STRAC annual June conference. Bryan Everitt has now operationalized this idea for EMS in Bexar County, a remarkable feat that will save lives for years to come.

Looking at current evidence, cold water immersion is superior to all other forms of treatment (that includes InnerCool devices) of acute onset heat stroke, and rapid treatment is essential. This EMS solution is ideal. Thank you Dr’s DeLorenzo and Jalkennen, and kudos to Dr. Everitt for his work in making this happen.

Below is the link to the segment on Good Morning America.


May 2023

Congratulations to Jacob Feldman, MD (left), and George Willis, MD (right), who have been chosen as UT Academy of Educational Scholars Star Educators !

Both docs were chosen for their stellar contributions in teaching, mentoring, and curriculum development, and were nominated by several colleagues / learners for this award.

Overall, the core mission of the Academy of Educational Scholars (AES) is to recognize faculty who truly make a difference in education and celebrate their decication and accomplishments throughout the academic year.

May 2023

Jessica Solis-McCarthy, MD, has been named 2023 Veritas Mentor of the Year for the second year in a row !

Veritas is the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long’s peer mentoring organization. Its goal is to enhance the development of medical students by fostering close relationships, assisting with career decisions and accessing resources. It is a cohesive and interclass system where each class of students mentors the students following them.

May 2023

Lorelle Dunn, MD, Resident, and Alex Hood, Research Assistant, had work featured in the latest edition of the Lituran & Visual Arts Journal, published by the UT Health Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics.

May 2023

Bryan Everitt, MD, has been named as AAEM-EMS Section Chair, and Craig Cooley, MD and Katherine Raczek, MD, will serve as Councillors.

Dr. Cooley, Craig Wayne
Dr. Raczek Katherine

May 2023

Craig Cooley, MD, has served as SAEM EMS Interest Group Chair since May 2022, and will serve thru 2024.

Dr. Cooley, Craig Wayne

April 2023

Bryan Everitt, MD and Katherine Raczek, MD, were both elected to the Texas Board for the National Assocation of EMS Physicians. Dr. Everitt will serve as Treasurer, and Dr. Raczek as Physician Member-At-Large.

Dr. Raczek Katherine

April 17, 2023

Julien Mahler, MD, current 3rd Year Resident with the Department of Emergency Medicine, has been elected to the TCEP Board as a Young Physician Representative for 2023.
TCEP is the Texas College of Emergency Physicians, and their stated Mission is to promote quality emergency care for all patients and to represent the professional interests of their members. Membership includes emergency physicians who practice in a wide variety of settings, including large and small groups, academic centers, urban and rural, board certified and non-board certified, residents, and medical students. This diverse group works together for the common goal of furthering the specialty of emergency medicine in Texas.

March 18-22, 2023

Louis Burton Sr., MHSM, FACHE, Director, Finance & Administration, received the Significant Contributions Annual Award at the 2023 AACEM/AAAEM Retreat. He served as President of the AAAEM for 2016-17 and currently serves as Chair of the Inclusiveness, Diversity, Equity and Anti-Racism (IDEA) Committee.
Louis has been with UT Health since August 2014 and has interests in healthcare administration, operations, and strategic management. He currently manages the UT Health  Emergency Medicine physician practice that has annual revenues in excess of over $26M and over 160 employees.

March 20, 2023

Please join us in congratulating (l to r) Leanna Dolson, MD; Brian Parker, MD; and Jessica Solis-McCarthy, MD, FACEP  on their successful application for promotion to Associate Professor / Clinical, effective September 1, 2023.

Dr. Dolson Leanna
Dr. Parker Brian
Dr. Solis McCarthy Jessica

January 21-24, 2023

Mark Foster. MD (left) and Ryan Bierle, DMSc, PA, LP, FCCM, FAWM (right) presented courses at the annual Society of Critical Care Medicine’s international congress / conference. While at the congress, Ryan was inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Foster, Mark
Dr. Bierle Ryan

January 2023

Craig Cooley, MD, has been named Chair for the Council of EMS Fellowship Directors (CEMSFD) for the National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP).

Dr. Cooley, Craig Wayne