Manzoor Bhat, MS, PhD is the Interim Vice Dean for Research at the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine. He is also Professor and Chair of the Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology, and holder of the Zachry Foundation Distinguished Chair in Neurosciences. Dr. Bhat’s research focus has been in the area of genetic and molecular processes that underlie neuron-glial interactions, synaptic organization and neurodegeneration. Dr. Bhat has been continuously funded by the NIH for the past two decades, and has also received funding from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, the Simons Foundation, and the John Doran Family Foundation. He is a member of the Dana Alliance for Brain Research Foundation and serves on the executive advisory committee of the Target ALS. At UT Health, Dr. Bhat led the charge to establish a Mouse Genome Engineering and Transgenic Facility, an institutional resource that creates genetically modified mouse models for UT Health investigators.

Tel: 210-567-0611
Patrick Sung, DPhil is Associate Dean for Research in the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine, Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair and Interim Chair of the Department of Biochemistry & Structural Biology. Dr. Sung also leads the genetic integrity program at the UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center. In his role as Associate Dean for Research Dr. Sung provides support and mentorship to biomedical science faculty.

Tel: 210-567-0751
David Gius, MD/PhD is Assistant Dean for Research for the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine and the Associate Director of the Mays Cancer Center at UTHSCSA MD Anderson. Dr. Gius also leads a research laboratory on cancer as an aging disease, as well as provides support and mentorship to young investigators and students.

Tel: 210-450-0781
Sunny Thompson, CRA Senior Manager & Associate Director of Research Operations Ms. Thompson returned to UT Health San Antonio in February 2021 and joined the Office for Research to help implement the new operating model. She leads the Long School of Medicine Research Administration Services team charged with handling pre- and post-award services for departments, centers and institutes within the school. Her experience prior to her current role includes managing research operations in the Department of Psychiatry as well as leadership roles at Texas Lutheran University and Arizona State University. She is an active member in national organizations working to hone and instill best practices for pre- and post-award services in research administrators locally and nation-wide ultimately to assist faculty and researchers in advancing research enterprise.

Tel: 210-450-3803 Teams calls preferred
Courtney Peebles, MPH Operations Manager
Courtney McElhaney Peebles joined the Office for Research in 2014. She manages faculty research development programs to connect JTLLSOM faculty with the right funding mechanism, training, or collaborators to help them change the world.

Tel: 210-562-6869
Denise Graham, MPH Senior Program Coordinator
Denise joined the Office for Research in June 2021 and coordinates medical student research services and support.

Tel: 210-450-8392

Office for Research

Long School of Medicine

7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, Texas 78229, USA
Room number MED 367L