Congratulations to Dr. T. Lee Gilman, post-doctoral fellow in the Daws lab, for receiving the inaugural Dennis L. Murphy Memorial Travel Award for young investigators. Lee received this prestigious award at the recent meeting of the International Society for Serotonin Research (ISSR), in Cork, Ireland, August 15-18, 2018.

Dennis L. Murphy, M.D., former Chief of the Laboratory of Clinical Science at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Intramural Research Program (IRP), passed away in 2017, after a brief illness.  Dr. Murphy was a giant in research geared toward understanding the etiology of, and improving treatments for, psychiatric disorders. In particular, he was known for his research exploring mood and anxiety disorders. His life’s work primarily focused on the serotonin neurotransmitter system and the serotonin transporter (SERT). Applying a sophisticated array of molecular, neurochemical and genetic approaches, Dr. Murphy made seminal contributions to the field. In his honor, this memorial travel award for young investigators was established by Professor Anne Andrews, a former student of Dr. Murphy, and current Vice President of the ISSR.  Pictured is Dr. T. Lee Gilman with Drs. Anne Andrews and Kevin Fone (current President of the ISSR).


Article Categories: News