Applications for Residency Begin!

September 2, 2020

The Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at UT Health San Antonio encourages any eligible medical student driven to be a world-class cardiothoracic surgeon to apply to our integrated cardiothoracic surgery residency program through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERATS).  We accept one resident per year and participate in the National Residency Matching Program (NRMP) Main Residency Match. […]

Mays Cancer Center Receives Five-Year NCI-Designated Cancer Center Renewal

August 18, 2020

We are proud on the news that the Mays Cancer Center, one of four National Cancer Institute designated Cancer Centers in South Texas, has been granted five more years as an NCI Cancer Center following a site visit this past February 2020.  This is a great achievement thanks to the leadership of Mays Cancer Center […]

#1 Lung Transplant Program in the U.S.

August 7, 2020

  Our Lung Transplant program has been ranked #1 in the United States with a 100% one-year survival rate by the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients! This accomplishment is a tribute to our dedicated staff and 50 years of transplant expertise. To learn more about our lung program or to refer a patient, please visit […]


Welcome Our New Faculty, Dr. Duy C. Nguyen, MD!

July 24, 2020

  Welcome to our newest General Thoracic Faculty, Dr. Duy C. Nguyen, MD! Dr. Nguyen joins our team with previous training at Baylor College of Medicine / Texas Heart Institute, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and George Washington University Medical Center.  His specialty is in robotic minimally invasive thoracic surgery, including lung cancer, esophageal disease, and […]

Dawn Hui

Dr. Dawn Hui Joins San Antonio AHA Board of Directors!

July 24, 2020

Please check her faculty profile for more detailed information.


Aust Society Resident Paper Competition Winners

July 24, 2020

For more information on our residents, please Click Here For more information on the J. Bradley Aust Surgical Society please Click Here


Welcome – Carolyn Dubeau, MD

July 24, 2020

Welcome to our newest incoming cardiothoracic surgery resident, Carolyn Dubeau, MD.  She comes from the Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine at Quinnipiac University Please check her resident profile for more detailed information.

ABTS elects Dr. S. Adil Husain to Board of Directors

September 23, 2019

Congratulations to Dr. S. Adil Husain, Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics, on his election to the ABTS Board of Directors.


Lawrence Award

February 13, 2019

Mitchell Katona was recently awarded Lawrence Award for Scientific presentation by a student at the 40th Annual Seminar of the American Academy of Cardiovascular Perfusion.