Matthew WIcklund, MD
Vice Chair of Research

Director, Research Operations

Research Staff


The research mission of the Department of Neurology at UT Health San Antonio is strong, broad and still growing. The department has a robust basic science and translational focus through the Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s & Neurodegenerative Diseases (Biggs Institute), a burgeoning number of clinical and outcomes trials, and disease registries throughout the rest of the department

The neurology department has several centers of excellence. There is a Level IV National Association of Epilepsy Center (NAEC)- accredited epilepsy center, along with centers of excellence in Parkinson’s disease, Huntington’s Disease, ALS, muscular dystrophies, multiple sclerosis and stroke (the only Joint Commission- accredited Comprehensive Stroke Center in South Texas). Additionally, the department contributes as a member site in numerous research consortia including the Northeast ALS Consortium (NEALS), Healey Platform Trial in ALS, Facioscapulohumeral Muscular Dystrophy Clinical Trials Network (FSHD-CTRN), Myotonic Dystrophy Clinical Research Network (DMCRN), Genetic Resolution and Assessments Solving Phenotypes in Limb Girdle Muscular Dystrophy (GRASP-LGMD), Texas Lone Star Stroke Consortium and NIH StrokeNet.

The research program at UT Health San Antonio continues an upward trajectory with further expansion planned for the years to come.