Podiatry Fellowship Training Program

UT Health San Antonio Fellowship in Amputation Prevention and Research

Duration: 1 year (August 1, 2023 – July 31, 2024)
Application Deadline: March 30, 2023
Location: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; University Hospital; Texas Diabetes Institute

Goals and Characteristics:

Collin E. Pehde, DPM, FACFAS
Collin Pehde, DPM, Fellowship Director

This fellowship is a one-year experience during which the Fellow will enhance their approach to the advanced medical and surgical management of complex diabetic foot complications, including limb- and life-threatening infections, osteomyelitis, lower extremity ischemia, soft tissue loss and ulcerations, Charcot foot, gangrene, chronic limb threatening ischemia. The Fellow will function as a junior faculty, participate in the teaching of podiatric medical students and residents.

The primary purpose of the fellowship is to provide to the Podiatric Surgeon who has completed a CPME-approved Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Residency, and who is committed to a part-time/full-time academic career in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery, further expertise in leadership and working on a multidisciplinary team. 

The Fellow is expected to complete clinical or basic research projects during the year and submit manuscripts for publication. UT Health has produced many leaders in diabetic foot research, academics, and surgical limb salvage. Good candidates for the UT fellowship will have interest in academics and have demonstrated leadership skills.

Please send a letter of interest, CV, and 2 letters of recommendation to Collin Pehde, DPM, Fellowship Director, Pehde@uthscsa.edu.

The deadline for the application and all the required information will be March 30, 2023.


UT Health San Antonio is an Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative
Action Employer including protected veterans and persons with disabilities.
All faculty appointments are designated as security sensitive positions.

Fellowship Graduation (Photos)

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer.

Current Fellows YearResidency Program
Thanh Nguyen, DPM2022-23Englewood Health, Englewood, NJ
Stephanie Campbell, DPM2022-23West Penn Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA
Past FellowsYearResidency Program
Steven Stuto, DPM2021-22University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
Gireesh Reddy, DPM2020-21Detroit Medical Center, Detroit, MI
Kimia Sohrabi, DPM2019-20St. Mary's Mercy Hospital, Livonia, MI
Shrunjay R. Patel, DPM2018-19St. Vincent Hospital, Indianapolis, IN
Alan C. Stuto, DPM2017-18University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
Hani M. Badahdah, DPM, MD, MS2016-17Mercy Hospital, Miami, FL
Daniel J. Short, DPM2015-16DVA — Maryland Healthcare System, MD
Daniel S. Piper, DPM2014-15University Hospitals Regional Hospitals, OH
Oluwatosin “Fatima” Ogunlana, DPM2013-14Our Lady of Lourdes Memorial Hospital, NY
Bradley A. Levitt, DPM2012-13University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
Bryan A. Sagray, DPM2012-13Inova Fairfax Hospital, VA
Zacharia Facaros, DPM2010-11Fountain Valley Regional Hospital, CA
Crystal L. Ramanujam, DPM*2009-11UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Claire M. Capobianco, DPM2009-10Swedish Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Ronald Belczyk, DPM2008-09University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Krista Kilpadi, MD, PhD *2007-09UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Roberto Rodriguez, DPM2007-08UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Luke Jeffries, DPM2007-08University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
John Stapleton, DPM2006-07University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
* Post Graduate Research Fellowship