Posts written by barrerafc

Congratulations to Dr. Kelly McGlothen-Bell for the Academy Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2019-2020 cohort.

November 19, 2019

Kelly McGlothen-Bell, PhD, RN, a posdoctoral fellow in Dr. Lisa Cleveland’s lab, has been selected for the the Academy Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2019-2020 cohort. Launched in 2014, the Jonas Policy Scholars program, generously funded by Jonas Philanthropies, supports early-career scholars seeking to shape nursing practice, education, and research policy. The Academy Jonas Policy Scholars […]

Noboru Hiroi

Congratulations to Noboru Hiroi on receiving an outstanding research award from the Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology!

October 15, 2019

Congress of Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology aims to encourage research, facilitate the communication of ideas in converging disciplines of Neuropsychopharmacology in Asia, develop pharmacotherapies for the treatment for psychiatric disorders, provide education and training opportunities, and empower patients and their families with scientific knowledge. Congratulations to Noboru Hiroi for receiving an outstanding research award.

Alexandra Sharp

Allie Sharp Receives the 2019-2020 Predoctoral Research Training Award

October 8, 2019

Cognitive impairment with cancer therapy is a significant issue, and my dissertation project has begun to address way to improve the cognitive side effects associated with cancer treatment, particularly a hormone therapy for prostate cancer known as androgen deprivation therapy.   Read More >>>    

Aleeza Stephens

Aleeza Stephens: I’ve Seen How Brain Damage Can Affect Personality

October 8, 2019

Aleeza Stephens was a sophomore in high school when her cousin had a football injury. He was diagnosed with a traumatic brain injury affecting his frontal lobe. Stephens is currently in the lab of Dr. Alan Frazer where she is looking at depression and antidepressant research. She explained that one of the areas of her […]

Denisse Paredes

Congratulations to Denisse Paredes for winning the Jess Hay Chancellor’s Fellowship

September 17, 2019

The UT System Jess Hay Chancellor’s Graduate Student Research Fellowship rotates between ten UT system institutions benefiting an academic and health science center every year. This year, Denisse Paredes was selected to receive this prestigious award. Denisse is a fourth-year graduate student in the PH.D. program and is currently in the Neursoscience track in the […]

Congratulations to Neuroscience T32 Training Grant Recipients Hannah Elam, Alex McCoy, and Stephanie Fedorchak  

August 26, 2019

Congratulations to Neuroscience T32 Training Grant Recipients are Hannah Elam, Alex McCoy, and Stephanie Fedorchak The Neuroscience Program holds a T32 Training Grant from the Jointly Sponsored NIH Predoctoral Training Program in the Neurosciences. Three trainees from the Neuroscience program are selected for support on this training grant each year. Appointees receive stipend, benefits, tuition […]

Noboru Hiroi

Neurobiological perspective of 22q11.2 deletion syndrome

August 6, 2019

Congratulations Dr. Noboru Hiroi for publishing an article in the The Lancet Psychiatry journal.  Dr. Hiroi is a faculty member with the Department of Pharmacology and has affiliations with Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, and Department of Psychiatry, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, San […]

Jennifer Donegan

Dr. Jennifer Donegan: Novel gene therapy reduces schizophrenia symptoms

August 1, 2019

Dr. Jennifer Donegan, GSBS alumna and postdoctoral fellow at UT Health San Antonio was featured for her findings in preclinical testing that, capsazepine analogs have shown promise in killing oral cancer tumors while sparing healthy tissue. Read article from the San Antonio Express-News

Grace Porter

Congratulations to Grace Porter for being accepted into the 2019-2020 Translational Science Training Tl1 Program

June 19, 2019

Congratulations to Grace Porter in Dr. O’Connors’s lab for being accepted into the 2019-2020 Translational Science Training Tl1 Program for her dissertation research on The Role of BDNF in mediating the PFC-dependent behavioral and neuroinflammatory response to peripheral immune challenge. The TST TL1 is a component of the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) administered […]

Alexandra Sharp

Congratulations to Alexandra Sharp for receiving the 2019-2020 Pre-doctoral Research Training Award

June 13, 2019

Congratulations to Alexandra Sharp in Dr. Morilak’s lab for receiving a 2019-2020 Pre-doctoral Research Training Award from the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas for her dissertation research on Mechanisms and Treatment of Cognitive Impairment Induced by Androgen Deprivation Therapy for Prostate Cancer