Our Team


Established in 1993 to centralize and improve the care of trauma victims in Bexar County and the surrounding 22-county region in South Texas, the Division of Trauma and Emergency Surgery is currently composed of ten full-time and two part-time faculty surgeons, five Physician Assistants and eight Nurse Practitioners.

Brian J. Eastridge, M.D.

Professor / Clinical | Division Chief | Jocelyn and Joe Straus Endowed Chair in Trauma Research

John G. Myers, M.D.

Professor/Clinical | Dr. Arthur S. and Iris G. McFee Professorship | Department of Surgery Vice Chair for Clinical Operations | Immediate Past Chief of Staff, University Hospital, San Antonio, TX | OR Medical Director for University Hospital, San Antonio, TX

Donald H. Jenkins, M.D., FACS

Professor/Clinical, | Vice Chair for Quality, Department of Surgery | Betty and Bob Kelso Distinguished Chair in Burn and Trauma Surgery | Associate Deputy Director, Military Health Institute

Lillian Liao, M.D., MPH

Associate Professor/Clinical | Pediatric Trauma Medical Director | University Hospital Pediatric Trauma and Burn Director

Ronald M. Stewart, M.D.

Professor | Chair, Department of Surgery | Dr. Witten B. Russ Chair in Surgery

Harlan D. Root, M.D.

Clinical Professor Division of Trauma and Emergency Surgery

Daniel L. Dent, M.D.

Distinguished Teaching Professor | Vice Chair for Education | Professor of Surgery

Deborah L. Mueller, M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor

Ramon F. Cestero, M.D., MBA, FACS, FCCM

Professor / Clinical | Program Director, Executive Development Program | Program Director, Executive Health EMBA Program

Susannah E. Nicholson, M.D., MS, FACS

Associate Professor/Research | Director, Research Operations | Dr. Ferdinand P. Herff Chair in Surgery

Mark T. Muir, M.D.

Associate Professor/Clinical | Trauma Medical Director, University Hospital

Christopher E. Crane, M.D., MS

Assistant Professor/Clinical | Emergency Surgery Director, University Hospital

Elizabeth P. Scherer, M.D., MPH

Assistant Professor/Clinical | Medical Director, SICU, University Hospital | Program Director, Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Ashley C. McGinity, M.D.

Assistant Professor/Clinical

Adjunct/Adjoint Faculty

  • Leopoldo Cancio, M.D.,
  • Adjoint Professor
  • M.D., Georgetown University, 1987
  • Christopher White, M.D.
  • Clinical Assistant Professor
  • M.D., UT Health San Antonio, 1997
  • Shawn Nessen, M.D.,
  • Adjoint Professor
  • D.O., the University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences, 1995
  • Reinaldo Morales, M.D.
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor
  • M.D., St. Louis University School of Medicine, 2010
  • Valerie Sams, M.D.
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor
  • M.D., St. George’s University, Greneda, West Indies, 2008

Research Team

Susannah Nicholson, M.D., MSCI

Assistant Professor/Research | Director, Research Operations

During her residency, she also completed a research fellowship, earned a Master’s degree in Clinical Investigation (UT Health San Antonio, 2009) and was awarded an NIH Loan Repayment Award for her research in the role of endogenous carbon monoxide and hemoperitoneum following trauma. She completed a fellowship in Surgical Critical Care at UT Health San Antonio in 2014 and is board certified in General Surgery. Dr. Nicholson’s current research focuses on the role of the innate immune system and inflammation in trauma patients. She was awarded a Mentored Research Career Development Award in Clinical & Translational Science in 2014 for her research evaluating the relationship between inflammation and intracellular components released into the circulation following cellular injury called Damage-associated molecular proteins (DAMPs) and patient outcome. Additionally, she has research interests in the microbiome of critically ill and injured patients, trauma systems, geriatric trauma, and pediatric trauma.

Rachelle Babbitt Jonas, RN, BSN

Manager, Research Operations

Mrs. Jonas, a Registered Nurse, completed her Bachelors of Science degree in Nursing from Texas Tech University Health Science Center in Lubbock, Texas in 2001. She joined the trauma research staff at the Health Science Center in 2004.

Mark DeRosa, CRT, CCRC

Clinical Research Project Manager

Mr. DeRosa, a Respiratory Therapist, completed his training with the U.S. Air Force and California College for Health Sciences. He is a Certified Clinical Research Coordinator with over 20 years of research experience. He has been with the Health Science Center since 2005.

Naresh B. Talathoti, B.Sc., MBBS

Clinical Research Project Manager

Dr. Talathoti completed his Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) at Rangaraya Medical College in Kakinada, India in 1997. He worked as a House Physician at Medwin Hospitals in Hyderabad, India 1997-1999. He served as Senior Lecturer at Spartan Health Sciences University, School of Medicine on the Caribbean Island of St. Lucia from 1999-2002. He started his clinical research career after moving to New York in 2002 at Columbia University Medical Center. He joined the T Health San Antonio Trauma Research Staff in January 2016.

Stephanie DeMoor, BS

Research Area Specialist – Associate

Ms. DeMoor completed her undergraduate education at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, TX. She worked as a medical scribe in multiple emergency departments across the country before moving into clinical research. She joined the trauma research team at the UT Health San Antonio in 2015.

Lauran Barry

Research Area Specialist – Associate

Ms. Barry completed her Bachelors of Science degree in Biological Psychology from the University of California, Davis. Before coming to UT Health San Antonio, she worked as a research associate for 5 years in the fields of emergency medicine, neuroscience for robotics and engineering, and developmental psychology. She joined the UT Health San Antonio trauma research staff in 2017.

Evander Jaca

Research Area Specialist – Associate

Mr. Jaca completed his Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from University of California, Riverside in 2018. During his undergraduate career, he worked as a research assistant for University of California Riverside research labs focusing on sleep patterns, memory reconsolidation and developmental psychology. He joined the UTHSCSA Trauma Research Staff in 2018.