UT Health San Antonio banner


The Department of Anesthesiology is active in the educational programs of the School of Medicine and the other schools of UT Health San Antonio. Electives in Anesthesiology are offered in both the third and fourth years.

Three Anesthesiology students

Clinical Services

The Department of Anesthesiology is committed to excellence in clinical service. Our anesthesia care team consists of 60 board-certified anesthesiologists, 54 anesthesiology residents, 6 pain medicine fellows, 1 critical care medicine fellow, and 19 nurse anesthetists. The anesthesia care team is assisted by technical and nursing support services provided by the various clinical venues.

Doctor looking at scope


The Department of Anesthesiology is currently engaged in both basic science and clinical / translational research to improve patient care and train students and resident physicians to analyze and conduct studies.