Mays Cancer Center Receives Five-Year NCI-Designated Cancer Center Renewal

We are proud on the news that the Mays Cancer Center, one of four National Cancer Institute designated Cancer Centers in South Texas, has been granted five more years as an NCI Cancer Center following a site visit this past February 2020.  This is a great achievement thanks to the leadership of Mays Cancer Center Director Ruben Mesa, MD, FACP.  The Mays Cancer Center is home to the UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Center Center.

Within the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at UT Health San Antonio, we treat patients with thoracic cancers, including lung cancer, esophageal cancer, mediastinal and chest wall tumors.  Our thoracic surgeons are Dr. Daniel DeArmond, Dr. Scott Johnson, and Dr. Duy Nguyen.  Together, we offer a wide variety of treatment options tailored to the patient, including minimally invasive / robotic thoracic surgery, as well as complex esophageal / foregut surgery.

For more information on Thoracic Surgery at UT Health San Antonio, click here.

Please read the full new article here.

Article Categories: News