Innovative Approaches to Nephrology Training and Precision Medicine.

The Division of Nephrology at UT Health San Antonio has a long and distinguished history of notable achievements in Nephrology. We are leaders in innovative approaches for Nephrology training and in the new era of Precision Medicine via our recently formed Center for Renal Precision Medicine (CRPM). The Division consists of nationally and internationally recognized faculty involved in clinical practice, teaching, and cutting-edge research. Our Nephrologists are experts in diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of renal disease and other kidney-related problems. The Division also hosts a biorepository of clinical samples for multiple analyses with extensive clinical phenotyping data.

The CRPM uses a multi-disciplinary approach and takes advantage of new cutting-edge technology to provide new approaches for clinical nephrology. The CRPM serves as a major resource for the national and international research communities, providing expertise in new omics technologies with data science tools to identify biomarkers and disease targets for kidney disease.

Our Chief, Dr. Kumar Sharma, is an internationally renowned translational physician-scientist. The Medicine Department Chair is a leader in acute kidney injury and inflammation. The President of UTHSA is an authority on dialysis, renovascular disease and a past ASN president. We have several leaders in clinical research, dialysis optimization, dietary and exercise interventions. Much of the underlying theme is on the role of optimizing mitochondrial function for organ preservation.

Article Categories: News