Our Pharmacology faculty are leading experts in a wide variety of research focus areas that often overlap into collaborative projects. The research faculty in the Department are well-funded from various NIH institutes and foundations, and our graduate students are competitive for individual National Research Service Award (NRSA) funding from NIH.

Molecular PharmacologySystems PharmacologyBehavioral PharamcologyDrug Discovery and Development
Mental Health DisordersPsychiatric Diseases and PTSDSubstance Abuse DisordersCancer
Inflammation, Aging, and Metabolic DisordersDevelopmental Neuropsychiatric DisordersSubstance Abuse Disorders
Pain Mechanisms and Drugs of AbuseAnalgesics and Drugs of AbuseAging and Metabolic Diseases
Functional GenomicsCancer Therapy and CognitionPain and Peripheral Neuropathy
Cytoskeletal Disrupting Drugs

Research Faculty by Topic

Mental Health Disorders

Noboru Hiroi, Ph.D.


Professor

hiroi@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Sarah C. Hopp, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor

hopps1@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Daniel Lodge, Ph.D.


Professor of Pharmacology

lodged@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Liang Ma


Assistant Professor

mal1@uthscsa.edu

 

 

David Morilak, Ph.D.


Center for Biomedical Neuroscience Director, Professor of Pharmacology

morilak@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Gek-Ming Sia, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

siag@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Inflammation, Aging, and Metabolic Disorders

Juli Bai, Ph.D.


Instructor/Research

baij@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Jason O’Connor, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

oconnorj@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Yuguang ‘Roger’ Shi, Ph.D.


Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long Distinguished Chair in Metabolic Biology, Professor of Pharmacology, Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies, and UTHSCSA

shiy4@uthscsa.edu

 

J. Randy Strong, Ph.D.


Professor of Pharmacology

strong@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Pain Mechanisms and Drugs

Kelly Berg, Ph.D.


Professor/Research

berg@uthscsa.edu

 

 

William Clarke, Ph.D.


Distinguished Teaching Professor and Maharaj Ticku Professor of Pharmacology

clarkew@uthscsa.edu

 

Functional Genomics

Noboru Hiroi, Ph.D.


Professor

hiroi@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Liang Ma


Assistant Professor

mal1@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Cytoskeletal Disrupting Drugs

April Risinger, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor

risingera@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Susan Mooberry, Ph.D.

Interim Chair and Professor of Pharmacology, Greehey Distinguished Chair in Targeted Molecular Therapeutics
mooberry@uthscsa.edu

Psychiatric Diseases and PTSD

Flavia Carreño, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor/Research

carrenof@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Milena Girotti, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor/Research

girotti@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Daniel Lodge, Ph.D.


Professor of Pharmacology

lodged@uthscsa.edu

 

 

David Morilak, Ph.D.


Center for Biomedical Neuroscience Director, Professor of Pharmacology

morilak@uthscsa.edu

 

Developmental Neuropsychiatric Disorders

Noboru Hiroi, Ph.D.


Professor

hiroi@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Jason O’Connor, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

oconnorj@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Analgesics and Drugs of Abuse

Kelly Berg, Ph.D.


Professor/Research

berg@uthscsa.edu

 

 

William Clarke, Ph.D.


Distinguished Teaching Professor and Maharaj Ticku Professor of Pharmacology

clarkew@uthscsa.edu

 

Gregory Collins, Ph.D.


Associate Professor of Pharmacology

collinsg@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Daniel Lodge, Ph.D.


Professor of Pharmacology

lodged@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Cancer Therapy and Cognition

Daniel Lodge, Ph.D.


Professor of Pharmacology

lodged@uthscsa.edu

 

 

David Morilak, Ph.D.


Center for Biomedical Neuroscience Director, Professor of Pharmacology

morilak@uthscsa.edu

 

 

April Risinger, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor

risingera@uthscsa.edu

Substance Abuse Disorders

Gregory Collins, Ph.D.


Associate Professor of Pharmacology

collinsg@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Charles France, Ph.D.

Robert A. Welch Distinguished University Chair in Chemistry, Professor of Pharmacology, and Professor of Psychiatry
france@uthscsa.edu

 

 

David Maguire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
maguired@uthscsa.edu

Cancer

Susan Mooberry, Ph.D.

Interim Chair and Professor of Pharmacology, Greehey Distinguished Chair in Targeted Molecular Therapeutics
mooberry@uthscsa.edu

 

April Risinger, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
risingera@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Xiaoli Sun, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
sunx1@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Substance Abuse Disorders

Gregory Collins, Ph.D.


Associate Professor of Pharmacology

collinsg@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Charles France, Ph.D.


Robert A. Welch Distinguished University Chair in Chemistry, Professor of Pharmacology, and Professor of Psychiatry

france@uthscsa.edu

 

Aging and Metabolic Diseases

Yuguang ‘Roger’ Shi, Ph.D.


Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long Distinguished Chair in Metabolic Biology, Professor of Pharmacology, Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies, and UTHSCSA

shiy4@uthscsa.edu

 

J. Randy Strong, Ph.D.


Professor of Pharmacology

strong@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Pain and Peripheral Neuropathy

Kelly Berg, Ph.D.


Professor/Research

berg@uthscsa.edu

 

 

William Clarke, Ph.D.


Distinguished Teaching Professor and Maharaj Ticku Professor of Pharmacology

clarkew@uthscsa.edu