Internal Advisory Committee

The IAC will evaluate all aspects of the training program. This includes assessment of recruitment efforts as well as the assignment of mentors, trainees, applicant interviews, and the resolution of any trainee/mentor problems. Prior to an appointment to this program, two or more members of this committee will interview prospective mentors and trainee applicants. Each trainee and mentor will be specifically reviewed by the IAC at semi-annual meetings to insure that trainees are progressing toward developing the necessary networks, competencies and breadth of experience needed for future biomedical research; and that mentors continue to develop mentoring skills and maintain active, cutting-edge research programs that use multidisciplinary approaches capable of training the next generation of clinician-investigators and research scientists. The Program Director serves as the Chairman of the IAC, which is presently composed of the following members:

  1. W. Brian Reeves, MD Chairman, Department of Medicine
  2. Linda M McManus, PhD Professor of Pathology
  3. Ralph A DeFronzo, MD Professor of Medicine/Division Chief of Diabetes
  4. Glenn M Toney, PhD, FAHA Professor of Physiology and Associate Director
  5. Mark S Shapiro, PhD Professor of Physiology
  6. James D Stockand, PhD, FAHA Professor of Physiology and Program Director

External Advisory Committee

A committee of national experts outside our institution will advise the Director and IAC regarding the scope and direction of the program.  Members on the EAC are expert research scientists and mentors that have much wisdom gained from experience directing training programs, and running national and societal programs targeted to advancing the careers and skills of emerging scientists. The EAC, at semi-annual meetings, will evaluate programmatic operations and decision-making that impact programmatic goals to include trainee and preceptor recruitment, preceptor assignment, the learning and progress of the trainees and mentors, inclusions of MD and MD/PhD trainees and mentors, a group mentoring environment, a strong collaborative environment that facilitates the use of multidisciplinary approaches, robust networking opportunities, and that trainee and mentor populations reflect workforce diversity. Programmatic assessment will be conducted via formal, semi-annual reviews at the yearly Experimental Biology meeting and via a conference call (see letters of support form EAC members).  The EAC is composed of the following members:

 WF Boron, MD, PhDProfessor and Chair, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Case Western Research University, 72nd President of the American Physiological Society, and current Secretary-General of the International Union of Physiological Sciences
 S Earley, PhD, FAHAProfessor, Department of Pharmacology, University of Nevada, Reno
DC Eaton, PhD Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology, Emory University School of Medicine, and 78th President of the American Physiological Society
 RN Mitchell, MD, PhDProfessor and Vice Chair for Education, Department of Pathology and Health Science and Technology, Harvard Medical School, and the Past-President of the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology