Department Team Members Coauthor New Publication

January 24, 2024

Medical student Sarath Pathuri, resident William Johnson, MD, and Justin Mascitelli, MD, have coauthored a new publication, entitled: “Treatment of intraorbital arteriovenous fistulas with direct puncture: a case series and review of treatments since 1978.” You can view the article by visiting the link below:  

Team members from the department gather together at Chicken and Pickle.

Welcome Party at Chicken N Pickle

October 26, 2023

Earlier this month, we hosted a “Welcome Party” at Chicken N Pickle for all our team members who recently joined the Department of Neurosurgery. We were excited to gather with our friends and families to celebrate the newest additions to our team!

Dr. Al-Saiegh and his wife, Sally, pose for a photo at their baby shower.

Baby Shower 2023 – Sally and Fadi Al-Saiegh, MD

September 20, 2023

Last Friday, team members from the Department of Neurosurgery gathered together for a baby shower celebrating Sally and Fadi Al-Saiegh, MD. We wish them both the very best as they prepare to welcome their first child into the world. Get ready to take lots of pictures!

Alexander Papanastassiou, MD, Treats Patient with DBS

September 15, 2023

UT Health published this article about Carl McLain, a patient with Parkinson’s disease who was treated by Alexander Papanastassiou, MD, using deep brain stimulation. Carl reported an improvement in his symptoms after surgery and describes the event as a turning point in his life. You can learn more about his journey by visiting the link […]

Denise Rios smiling for staff photo.

Denise Rios ACANP-BC, APRN, RN, MSN, Awarded Agnes Marshall Walker Foundation Research Grant

May 2, 2023

The Department of Neurosurgery is excited to share the news that Denise Rios, ACANP-BC, APRN, RN, MSN, has been awarded the Agnes Marshall Walker Foundation Research Grant through the American Association of Neuroscience Nursing. The Agnes Marshall Walker Foundation (AMWF) is dedicated to supporting neuroscience nursing through education, research, professional development, and certification to promote […]

Department team members smile for a group photo.

Spring Hike 2023

April 6, 2023

Team members from the Department of Neurosurgery gathered together this past weekend for an invigorating spring hike at Government Canyon. The weather was perfect and everyone had a great time enjoying the outdoors. The outing also included a visit to Hops and Hounds, a local restaurant with an on-site dog park. It was a perfect […]

Staff members smile for group photo celebrating thank a resident day.

Thank a Resident Day 2023

February 24, 2023

Team members from the Department of Neurosurgery’s Neuro ICU celebrated Thank a Resident Day by gathering for this group photo. Thank a Resident Day was instituted by the Gold Humanism Honor Society to recognize resident physicians and their contributions to healthcare. We are grateful to all our residents for their dedication and hard work. Thank […]

Welcome, Jordan Mohammed!

February 16, 2023

The Department of Neurosurgery is excited to welcome Jordan Mohammed to our team. Jordan is an advanced practice provider who recently joined our night shift faculty for Neurocritical Care. We hope that you will greet Jordan when you get the chance to meet him and help him feel welcomed to our department!

Takesha Barclay's graduation day photo.

Takesha Barclay Graduates with Doctoral Degree

December 16, 2022

The Department of Neurosurgery is proud to announce that one of our advanced practice providers, Takesha Barclay, recently received her Doctor of Nursing Practice from the UT Health School of Nursing. Ali Seifi, MD, attended her ceremony on the department’s behalf to show our support for this exciting achievement. Congratulations from all of us, Dr. […]

Sarah Martinez smiles for a photo.

Sarah Martinez Nominated as a 2022 Compliance Champion

December 14, 2022

Sarah Martinez, MPH, was nominated as a Compliance Champion during this year’s Compliance and Ethics Week Celebration. We congratulate Sarah on receiving this recognition and thank her for the work she does daily to fulfill the mission of UT Health San Antonio!