John Robert Floyd II, M.D, Appointment New Chair of the Department of Neurosurgery

Dean Robert Hromas, M.D., FACP, smiling and standing next to Dr. John Floyd in the Department of Neurosurgery conference room.

Today, the dean of the Long School of Medicine, Robert Hromas, M.D., FACP, announced the appointment of John Robert Floyd II, M.D., to the position of chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, effective June 1, 2018. He was selected from a pool of strong finalists assembled by a national search committee headed by Dr. Robin Brey, professor and chair of the Department of Neurology.


Dr. Floyd is fellowship-trained in skull base surgery and neurosurgical oncology. While in high school, Dr. Floyd was awarded early admission to the University of Alabama School of Medicine, where he completed his Doctor of Medicine. Dr. Floyd also spent a year in Adelaide, Australia studying public health on a Rotary International scholarship.  He later completed his neurosurgical residency training at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, where he was awarded a two-year NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein Institutional National Research Service Award to study biomarker discovery in malignant gliomas using mass spectrometry. Dr. Floyd then spent a year as a fellow training in skull base surgery and neurosurgical oncology at the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. In 2008, he was recruited to the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio to establish the Skull Base and Neurosurgical Oncology Program.


Dr. Floyd is nationally recognized for his work in skull base surgery and neurosurgical oncology.  Since arriving at UT Health San Antonio, he has collaborated with other faculty members to establish the only neuro-oncology service line in South Texas.  Dr. Floyd brought advanced surgical techniques, such as endoscopic skull base surgery, awake brain surgery, and stereotactic radiation therapy, to the patients of South Texas and beyond.  He has also collaborated with UT investigators to bring novel therapies for malignant gliomas to human trials. He is one of the nation’s leading authorities on convection-based therapy for malignant brain tumors.


Dr. Floyd has served as president of the Texas Association of Neurological Surgeons (TANS). He is an active member of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) and the Society of Neuro-Oncology (SNO). At UT Health, Dr. Floyd serves the Department of Neurosurgery as a residency program director. Over the last two years, he has provided his leadership and guidance to the department as interim chair. His work in that capacity has been recognized by many, both inside and outside of the Department of Neurosurgery.


We congratulate Dr. Floyd on his appointment and look forward to helping him realize his vision for the future of our department.


Article Categories: News