Cytopathology Fellowship

This fellowship provides for one full year of advanced training in diagnostic cytology. The experience includes daily sign-out of gynecologic and nongynecologic specimens as well as training in the performance and interpretation of fine needle aspiration biopsies. Participation in conferences and teaching of pathology residents and cytotechnology students is required. Involvement in clinical research is also encouraged. Cytology specimens from the University Hospital and the South Texas Veterans Health Care System, Audie L. Murphy Division, approximate total 20,000 annually, of which 5,000 are non gynecologic specimens. The latter group includes approximately 1,000 fine needle aspiration biopsies.


Applicants must have completed a four-year AP/CP residency or a straight anatomic pathology residency.

Cytopathology Goals and Objectives

Number of positions: Two

Recruitment Status:
Academic year 2021-2022: One position remaining
Academic year 2022-2023: Two position remaining

Stipends: Commensurate with level of training.

View current benefits

Information on Living in San Antonio

Current Cytopathology Fellows

Alexis Gardner, DO
Residency:  Baylor University Medical Center, 2020
Medical School: Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine, 2016
Hometown: San Antonio, TX
Undergraduate School:  Longwood University, 2011

1. Why Pathology? It’s a specialty with a lot of variety and a constant stream of new information. I like a profession that challenges me to reconsider my point of view on a regular basis.

2.  Why did you choose UT Health San Antonio? I trained with an alumnus of the UT Health San Antonio Cytopathology Fellowship who described this program as providing fellows with autonomy in a supportive environment.

3. What do you like about living in San Antonio? Easy access to H-E-B! Easy access in general, it’s a very navigable city with much to see


Christine Liang, M.D.
Residency:  University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, 2019
Medical School:  Saint Louis University School of Medicine, 2015
Undergraduate School:  Saint Louis University School of Medicine, 2011
Hometown:  Bloomington Normal, IL


Philip Valente, M.D. (Director) Alia Nazarullah, M.D.
Sarah Hackman, M.D. Daniel Mais, M.D.

STVHCS Faculty

Shiwen Yang, M.D., M.S., PhD (Director) Lisa Radkay-Gonzalez, M.D.
Aamir Ehsan, M.D.


Send inquiries to:

Philip T. Valente, M.D.
Professor and Director of Cytopathology
Department of Pathology
UT Health San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
Phone: (210) 567-4010
Fax: (210) 567-4637


Maria Gomez
Fellowship Program Coordinator
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
UT Health San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Drive MC 7750
San Antonio, TX 78229
Voice:  210-567-4010
Fax:  210-567-4637